Plant-based diet for gluten intolerance

Food for celiac disease


What should people with gluten intolerance eat?

Proper diet in celiac disease is crucial to ensure that the patient can lead a “normal life”, getting his/her intestinal health back.

It should be borne in mind that this diet must be constant and strict so that the person affected by gluten intolerance must follow it over a lifetime.

Constant monitoring of food has to be present to be sure it does not contain any gluten.


Foods that contain gluten

Among the foods that contain gluten we have the following:

Foods that must be avoided

  • Cereals with gluten: Wheat, rye, oats, barley, triticale (hybrid between wheat and rye).
  • Cereal Derivatives with gluten that contain white flour or whole grain flour:
    • Bread, yeast, cookies, pastry, biscuits, pancakes, cakes, pastries, cakes and cereal semolina containing gluten
    • Pasta noodles, spaghetti, raviolis, pasta, pizzas, etc.
    • Canned or dry soups.
    • Preparations for breakfast that contain cereals with gluten
    • Preparations for making any article of pastry: pies, cakes, ice creams, custards, etc


      Cookies are generally made with flour containing gluten. So they must be avoided

  • Fermented beverages from cereals containing gluten: beer, malt, barley water, milk shakes, etc.
  • Processed foods containing gluten: Among major mention which its labeling contain components as thickeners, starches, vegetable proteins u starches. Within this group we have foods as sausages, canned, meat or fish batters, ices, spread cheeses, candies or sweets, patés, etc. If labels do not specify that are gluten-free, they should not be eaten.

Foods that can contain gluten

They can only be eaten if the label specifies that are gluten-free

  • Industrial condiments: Ketchup, preparations for soup, salads and sauces in general.
  • Prepared or canned vegetables: bread coated vegetables, vegetables with sauce, pasta, vegetable spring rolls, etc.
  • Prepared and packed meat: canned, marinated or prepared meats, croquettes and meat pies, spring rolls, etc.
  • Cold or prepared minced meat: Salami, sausages, sausages, frankfurters, hamburgers, croquettes, pies, etc.
  • Processed cheese.
  • Industrial sweets: ice creams, caramels, toffees, jellies, chocolates


Foods that do not contain gluten

  • Vegetal foods: Generally all the vegetal foods, except the cereals mentioned in the previous section are considered suitable.Natural vegetal foodsare recommended, due to their greater wealth in vitamins and minerals and because we know for sure gluten has not been used in their preparation.This implies that the people with celiac disease can eat other cereals which content in gluten is low, like rice, or maize. Derivatives of these can also be eaten, such as:

    quinoa with onion and raisins

    Quinoa is a pseudocereal, very useful for celiac. In the photo quinoa with onion and raisins recipe.

  • Preparations for breakfast made with corn or rice (rice tarts, rice or corn cereal, bread, rice, etc.)
  • Amaranth or quinoa dishes (These two pseudocereals are very nutritive and adequate for celiac)
  • Soy bread, potato or maize bread.
  • Cookies, cakes and desserts made with glutenfree flours.
  • Soups, porridges, cakes or desserts made with tapioca starch which is obtained from cassava. A good way to get thicker soup is to use corn, soy or rice flour.
  • Soups, porridges, cakes or desserts made with cornstarch (a product made with flour or corn starch)
  • Soups, porridges, cakes or desserts made with flour from rice.
  • Homemade jams, jams or jellies made at home. Chocolate, not a substitute. Sugar. Homemade ice cream with the specification “gluten free” on the label.
  • Condiments: salt, vinegar and spices (pepper, garlic, cumin, parsley, mustard, etc)
  • Edible fats: vegetal oils (olive, sunflower oil, soybean, etc.), butter, margarine, butter of peanut, etc.
  • Not fermented spirits from cereals: wine, cava, champagne, whiskey, cognac, etc.
  • Sparkling beverages.
  • Infusions: Coffee, tea or other infusions or decoctions of medicinal plants.

Abundant consumption of the following food is especially indicated

  • Any type of fruit, or fruit juice.
  • Any type of vegetables.
  • Any type of legumes.
  • Any type of tuber.
  • Dried fruit without processing, although the fried ones are also suitable. The sunroasted nuts may contain gluten.
  • Algae as agar agar .

Non vegetarian people can also resort to animal foods

All animals, fresh or frozen foods, are appropriate:

  • Fresh meat, including offal, bacon, ham, cured ham and dried beef, minced or chopped natural beef with no preparation.
  • Fresh or frozen fish, shellfish, mollusks. Fish, fresh or canned in oil.
  • Milk and dairy products, cheese, cheese, yogurt, etc.
  • Eggs

Some advice for people with celiac disease

  • Check often the composition of food and packaged products to avoid those that can be harmful.
  • Make a list of glutenfree food. For this you can ask the food manufacturers.
  • Contact with groups of people affected by that disease or disease associations for support and aid.
  • Seek the help of a nutritionist to provide the appropriate menus and adequate food available in the market.

punto rojoMore information on celiac disease and its natural treatment.

This article was endorsed by Elisenda Carballido - Dietitian nutritionist. Postgraduate in Phytotherapy and master in Nutrition and Metabolism.
Written by Editorial Botanical-online team in charge of content writing

11 November, 2021

Other interesting articles

This material is for informational purposes only. In case of doubt, consult the doctor.
"Botanical-online" is not responsible for damages caused by self-medication.